You gotta have a little Faith

Untitled by forthunterhens
Untitled, a photo by forthunterhens on Flickr.

</p

This is my little girl Faith, she is the self proclaimed protecter of the chickens…. In the top picture she is 16 weeks old, and in the bottom picture she is like 2 years old…

Her BIrthday in June 25, 2010 and she is the epitome of a Cancer…

Rob and I had talked about getting a dog, but had not set anything in stone and we were looking but not really, we both liked Cocker Spaniels, but I really didn’t want a pure bred just because most of the Cockers I had come accross had been slightly nippy or just not that nice, but I loved the way they looked and thier loyalty to thier owners… All of the Cockers Rob had encountered had been great dogs…

One day in October 2010 Rob bought a Want Ad magazine, and when he came to the spa he left in on the front desk, so I started thumbing through it, and found this picture of 2 cute puppies which were a mix of Cocker Spaniel and King Charles Cavalier Spaniel one was brown and white, the other was tri-coloured (black, white and a little Brown) they were so cute, I showed Rob, he had noticed them also earlier so he told me to call, so I did the guy was on his way to show them to another couple, I told him that if they only took one we would like to see the other, he called later to say they only took one so I had Rob call the next day to ask whatever questions he wanted or needed to… Rob told me the other couple may still take the other puppy they just wanted to see if they could handle the one before they decided to take the other…. That following Sunday on 10/10/10 Rob had errrands to run, and when he came home, he walked into the living room with this little bundle of joy, the look on my face was not exactly what Rob was expecting to see, I kind of had the look of confusion meets mortification, as I reached for the puppy I asked "I thought this one was a girl" he replied "it is" the hair on her lady part was so long and directed forward that it looked like a male puupy part…. I wanted to name her Faith and Rob agreed, so that was her name, Some people thought it was a little to serious of a name for a puppy, and that it would be hard to train her because it was only one sylabol, but she learned quickly and learned her name with in days…

House breaking her was actually very easy, when I was home I would bring her out every hour on the hour and I would stand out thier till she would go, and during the day when we weren't home Rob's father Paul would come over several times and let her out, (He was and still is a great help with the dogs while we are at work he come over and lets them out during the day) it defintalely helped with the housbreaking, she was fully house broken in a matter of 2 weeks and would even jingle the bells we hung from the door knob, to let us know when she needed or wanted to go out…

The one issue she did have was that she had severe Ghiardia and she would make such a mess in her crate she couldn’t hold her poop through the night, she would be covered in it, she got a bath every morning we quickly brought her to the vet, to figure this out and get her shots, it took 3 times of treating her before she finally got rid of it… I was getting so stressed out about it and frusterated, but at least thier was a reason and she wasn't just doing it to be defiant….

She has been a great dog, she never really destroyed anything, but we did crate train her, but she never showed interest in chewing on shoes or things like that, she did chew a couple of legs to kitchen chairs, but after we got some bitter apple spray that stopped… she did go through a breif biting stage when she was teething, she would drive me nuts that I would just hand her off to Rob,. one day she bit me it hurt so I pinched her, she never bit after that…

We started socializing her very young and it worked she gets along with all dog and other animals, any body can bring any dog in to the yard and she just wants to play…

Faith does patrol the yard with vigilance, to protect the birds… If a feral cat comes in the yard she will chase it out, when in the house she will stare out the doors to make sure nothing is going on, and with the slightest sound she hears she is at the door wanting to go out…

She can be a silly girl too, like when she jumps on your lap and turns herself around so you will hold her like a baby and rub her chest and she shoves her head under your chin… Or if she falls asleep on you and you go to move her she growls at you, or when we got the kitten and she would play ever so gentle with her…

She truly is this mans best friend…

Untitled by forthunterhens
Untitled, a photo by forthunterhens on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

